Dawson County Raceway
NewsSchedulePointsSponsorsPhotosDriversGearRulesTrack InfoLinks
News & Results
Monday, July 16, 2012
Racing at its Finest!

Neligh's Jason Wilkinson was heavy on the throttle in running away with the win at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington on Sunday in the IMCA Hobby Stock division

 Where only the best go three abreast was spread out to four-wide racing during a very competitive night of circle track action at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska on Sunday. Going fast and turning left the best to find their way into the winners circle was David Murray Jr, Jesse Sobbing, Mike Nichols, Jason Wilkinson and David Dembowski.
 It took a few laps for Oberlin, Kansas wheelman David Murray Jr, to get to the front of the field, but once there after a miscue on a re-start, the Murray rocketship ran off on lap seven to win the IMCA Modified feature with a big cushion over the rest of the field. Leading the way from the onset, North Platte’s Zach Schultz led from the drop of the green flag through the sixth lap, before relinquishing the lead to Murray. Schultz stayed on gas to the tune of a runner-up finish in the feature. Coming the whole way from the sixth row at the beginning, Cole Hodges of Ogallala took his new chassis onto the podium with a third place finish. Heat race winner Cale Osborn of Cozad was high on the wheel early and often in bringing home fourth place accolades against a stiff field of open wheeled racers. Rounding out your top five with a strong run from his fifth row starting position was Davenport’s Scott Smith. Jay Steffens won an early in the night heat race, and was in the money until having a minor mishap on a restart that caused the Dirt Boss chassis to visit the work area for a new tire.
 Continuing his hot streak on the ovals throughout the Midwest to hold onto the National Points lead, Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood, Iowa was victorious in the IMCA Northern Sport Mods Feature. In only his second appearance at the DCR 3/8th mile oval, Papillion’s Brian Kosiski drove his yellow hotrod to second place from its fifth row starting position. Winning the initial heat race of the night in the division, and rolling to a third place finish in the feature event, Colton Osborn of Cozad starred in the limelight. Capping out your top five in the highly competitive division was early leader Vince Leibert of Lexington and Gothenburg’s Jamey Kennicutt in fourth and fifth place overall. Leibert led the first eleven laps of the feature. Knocking on the door of earning a top five finish was Denny Egge of Kearney and North Platte’s Shane Stout.
 No stranger to the winners circle; Harlan, Iowa’s Mike Nichols won a heat race and continued his streak of Feature wins in the IMCA Stock Car division at Lexington’s Dawson County Raceway. Nichols used a very tacky top groove to race his way into the lead on the fourth circuit and never looked back. Heat race victor Casey Werkmeister of Maywood drove his way to a runner-up finish by showcasing great skill behind the wheel to avoid all incidents throughout the event. Gaining incredible amounts of experience and skill behind the wheel, Gothenburg’s Jeff Whiting snared third place accolades. Rounding out your top five finishers were Casey Woken of Ogallala and honeymooner Sara Klein also of North Platte in fourth and fifth place overall.
 Making his first appearance to Dawson County Raceway in nearly a year, wasn’t much of a change as Neligh’s Jason Wilkinson dusted off the mantle to lead from lap fourth to win the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature. Wilkinson was heavy on the loud pedal to win one of the two heat races earlier in the night to go along with leading from lap four to lap 15. Staying on the back bumper of Wilkinson as he maneuvered through lap traffic was Norfolk’s Tiffany Bittner who finished second overall from her third row starting position. The Wilcox wheelman Anthony Martin came from deep in the field to earn accolades during the cautioned filled Feature in third place overall. Heat race winner Tyler Andreasen of Grand Island was a force in the early going in avoiding all incidents to finish fourth overall. Capping off your top finishers in the Hobby Stock division was Kearney’s Travis Kernick who was a frontrunner early, only being forced to now settle for fifth place hardware for his skill and efforts on the links.
 Reaching the winners circle in the IMCA Sport Compacts main event was David Dembowski of Grand Island. Dembowski lead early and was able to hold off all challenges from Dalton Smith of Gibbon and Jose Sabala of North Platte. Dalton Smith raced side by side for many laps with Dembowski, who was forced to settle with runner-up honors. Jose Sabala had a minor mishap that pushed him to the back of the field, but it wasn’t enough to park the Dodge Neon, who ended up taking home third place accolades.

 Modified Feature:
 1. 97m-David Murray Jr, ; 2. 55z-Zach Schultz; 3. 34jw-Cole Hodges; 4. 6c-Cale Osborn; 5. 50-Scott Smith; 6. 19-Chuck Stryker; 7. XII-Jay Steffens; 8. 3rw-Ronnie Wallace; 9. 1x-Cody Blessing; 10. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 11. 13-Ethan Johnson; 12. 24jt-Jeff Linner; 13. 7a-Steve Aitken (DNF); 8. 23s-Josh Sabin (DNF).
 Heat 1: 1. 50-Colton Osborn; 2. 1x-Denny Egge; 3. 52-Brian Kosiski; 4. 8c-Corey Cruzan; 5. 12j-Kerry Jones.
 Heat 2: 1. 99-Jesse Sobbing; 2. 7-Vince Leibert; 3. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 4. 68-Craig Howard; 5. 5s-Shane Stout.

 Northern Sport Mods Feature:
 1. 99-Jesse Sobbing; 2. 52-Brian Kosiski; 3. 50-Colton Osborn; 4. 7-Vince Leibert; 5. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 6. 1x-Denny Egge; 7. 5s-Shane Stout; 8. 12j-Kerry Jones; 9. 72h-Jim Hagan; 10. 71-Evan Nemitz; 11. 15-Tanner Winberg; 12. 68-Craig Howard (DNF); 13. 8c-Corey Cruzan (DNF); 14. 4p-Rick Putnam; 15. 25-Toph Harmon (DNF); 16. 55d-Dillon Schultz (DNF); 17. 69-Adam Kackmeister (DNF); 18. 0-Bryan Herrick (DNS).
 Heat 1: 1. 50-Colton Osborn; 2. 1x-Denny Egge; 3. 52-Brian Kosiski; 4. 8c-Corey Cruzan; 5. 12j-Kerry Jones.
 Heat 2: 1. 99-Jesse Sobbing; 2. 7-Vince Leibert; 3. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 4. 68-Craig Howard; 5. 5s-Shane Stout.

 Stock Car Feature:
 1. 63-Mike Nichols; 2. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 3. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 4. 20b-Brandon Clough; 5. 35jw-Casey Woken; 6. 00-Sara Klein; 7. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 8. 57-Dan Stoll; 9. 31-Darin Racek; 10. 57x-Scott Stoll; 11. 45-Mikey Dancer (DNF); 12. 11k-Kyle Clough (DNS).
 Heat 1: 1. 63-Mike Nichols; 2. 20b-Brandon Clough; 3. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 4. 57x-Scott Stoll; 5. 11k-Kyle Clough.
 Heat 2: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 35jw-Casey Woken; 3. 00-Sara Klein; 4. 31-Darin Racek.

 Hobby Stock Feature:
 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 3. 9a-Anthony Martin; 4. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 5. 2x-Travis Kernick; 6. 3z-Zach Canas; 7. 11p-Jamie Porterfield; 8. r19-Larry Refior; 9. 19-Dana Morgan; 10. 5-Chuck Ledbetter.
 Heat 1: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 3. 11-Dillon Thompson; 4. 26-Ryan Gardine; 5. r19-Larry Refior.
 Heat 2: 1. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 2. 9a-Anthony Martin; 3. 3z-Zach Canas. 4. 2x-Travis Kernick; 5. 5-Chuck Ledbetter.
 Sport Compact Feature:
 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 40j-Jose Sabala; 3. 12s-Dalton Smith.
 Heat 1: 40j-Jose Sabala; 2. 52-David Dembowski; 3. 12s-Dalton Smith.

Source: Kelly Ninas


Front & Back of T Shirt

Jamey Kennicutt
Copyright © 2015 Tamie Thurn Powered by NITROQUEST