Dawson County Raceway
NewsSchedulePointsSponsorsPhotosDriversGearRulesTrack InfoLinks
News & Results
Sunday, August 5, 2012
Werkmeister Back in Victory Lane at Dawson County Raceway

Casey Werkmeister of Maywood was high on the steering wheel to claim the Feature win in the IMCA Stock Car division on Sunday night at Dawson County Raceway

 Putting their best foot forward against a loaded field of competitors; racers: David Murray Jr., Jesse Sobbing, Casey Werkmeister, Tiffany Bittner and David Dembowski all earned trip to the winners circle at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska on Sunday night.
 No stranger to victory lane, with over 510 Feature wins behind the wheel of an IMCA Modified is David Murray Jr of Oberlin, Kansas. Murray added to the total with another victory on Sunday night, as he took the lead on lap five and never looked back to claim the win. Getting up high on the steering wheel was Cozad’s Cale Osborn during the waning as he rallied for runner-up accolades. Showing expertise on the cushion and ducking underneath traffic to take advantage was the name of the game for Jay Steffens of North Platte, who finished third overall. Rounding out the top five finishers in the feature was youthful wheelmen Jeremy Frenier of Fort Morgan, Colorado and Ogallala’s Cole Hodges in fourth and fifth, respectively. Frenier and Dave Pederson of Brady were the heat race winners in earlier action at Dawson County Raceway.
 Leading the laps that mattered most was Glenwood, Iowa’s Jesse Sobbing as he garnered the lead at the halfway mark of the IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature and drove to the checkered flag victory. Sobbing took the lead from fellow heat race winner Colton Osborn of Cozad, who led lap three through nine. Osborn kept the pressure on Sobbing for much of the race and finished second overall. Recovering quite nicely from a shredded right rear tire, Kearney’s Denny Egge crossed the finish line in third place on Sunday at Lexington. Battling it out throughout the feature, Papillion’s Brian Kosiski and Bryan Herrick of Curtis avoided incident during the 20-lap event and earned fourth and fifth place honors.
 Conquering the field of IMCA Stock Car competitors was Maywood’s Casey Werkmeister as he led from the second lap to the finish of the Feature. Werkmeister had almost a full straight away lead for much of the event, until fellow heat race winner Mike Nichols of Harlan, Iowa found moisture in the low groove to run down Werkmeister, and just falling inches short of picking up the win. Nichols settled for runner-up honors, despite the late lap rally. Staying out of trouble and hanging around the frontrunners earned Gothenburg’s Jeff Whiting a podium position in third place overall in his Chevy Lumina. It was a family affair for the remaining top five honors, with Kyle Clough and Brandon Clough crossing the finish line in fourth and fifth during the feature.
 It was a test of adversity for Norfolk wheel woman Tiffany Bittner as she claimed the trophy for winning the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature after retiring early in her heat race. Bittner snared the lead on lap nine and never looked back to record the victory. Finding his groove in his first appearance of 2012 at Dawson County Raceway was Grand Island’s Kyle Bond. Bond showcased his talents to the tune of a runner-up finish in the feature. Shuffling through the mix throughout the feature event, putting the fans in the stands on the edge of their seats was Anthony Martin of Wilcox, Jamie Porterfield of Hastings and Grand Island’s Tyler Andreasen who were third, fourth and fifth when the checkered flags were waved. Andreasen and Zach Canas of Cozad were the early night heat race winners in the Hobby Stock division.
 Winning his second straight Feature was David Dembowski of Grand Island in the IMCA Sport Compacts division. Dembowski led from the onset when the green flag dropped, until the checked flag during both the heat race and feature event. Gibbon hotshoe Dalton Smith piloted his Chevy Beretta around the cushion of the corners to take home runner-up accolades. The Mopar magic of Jose Sabala powered his Dodge Neon to run on the ragged edge around to finish third overall in the feature event.
 Racing action returns to Dawson County Raceway on the fairgrounds in Lexington this upcoming Sunday August 12th, with the gates opening at 5 p.m. and the first green flag dropping at 6:30 p.m.

Unofficial Results:
Modified Feature: 1. 97m-David Murray Jr; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. XII-Jay Steffens; 4. 17j-Jeremy Frenier; 5. 34jw-Cole Hodges; 6. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 7. 7a-Steve Aitken; 8. 1x-Cody Blessing; 9. 24jt-Jeff Linner (DNF); 10. 19-Chuck Stryker (DNF); 11. 98t-Tyler Iverson (DNF).
 Heat 1: 1. 17j-Jeremy Frenier; 2. 7a-Steve Aitken; 3. 6c-Cale Osborn; 4. 98t-Tyler Iverson; 5. 1x-Cody Blessing.
 Heat 2: 1. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 2. 34jw-Cole Hodges; 3. XII-Jay Steffens; 4. 24jt-Jeff Linner; 5. 19-Chuck Stryker.

Northern Sport Mod Feature: 1. 99-Jesse Sobbing; 2. 50-Colton Osborn; 3. 1x-Denny Egge; 4. 52-Brian Kosiski; 5. 0-Bryan Herrick; 6. 7-Vince Leibert; 7. 12j-Kerry Jones; 8. 68-Criaght Howard; 9. 72h-Jim Hagan; 10. 25-Toph Harmon (DNF); 11. 4p-Rick Putnam (DNF); 12. 15-Tanner Winberg (DNF); 16. 69-Adam Kackmeister; 17. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt (DNF); 15j-Jeremiah Slough.
 Heat 1: 1. 3z-Zach Canas; 2. 26-Ryan Gardine; 3. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 4. 44-Caleb Hetrick.
 Heat 2: 1. 13t-Tyler Andereasen; 2. 9a-Anthony Martin; 3. 0-Kyle Bond; 4. 12-Jim Buss; 5. 72h-Jim Hagan.

Stock Car Feature: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 63-Mike Nichols; 3. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 4. 11k-Kyle Clough; 5. 20b-Brandon Clough; 6. 09h-Bob Hoing; 7. 31-Darin Racek; 8. 29e-Brendan Eilts; 9. 00-Sara Klein; 10. 57x-Scott Stoll; 11. 57-Dan Stoll; and 12. 51b-Brett Gartrell.
 Heat 1: 1. 63-Mike Nichols; 2. 11k-kyle Clough; 3. 20b-Brendan Clough; 4. 09h-Bob Hoing; 5. 31-Darin Racek.
 Heat 2: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 16-Jeff Whiting; 3. 00-Sara Klein; 4. 29e-Brendan Eilts; 5. 57x-Scott Stoll.

Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 2. 0-Kyle Bond; 3. 9a-Anthony Martin; 4. 11p-Jamie Porterfield; 5. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 6. 3z-Zach Canas; 7. 12-Jim Buss; 8. 19-Dana Morgan; 9. 72b-Jacob Hagan; 10. 72h-Kevin Hagan; 11. 66m-Chrisitan McCance; 12. 11-Dillon Thompson (DNF); 13. 2x-Travis Kernick (DNF); 14. r19-Larry Refior (DNF); 15. 30pk-Ethan Kenney (DNF); 16. 26-Ryan Gardine (DNF); 17. 44-Caleb Hetrick (DNS); 18. 30a-Adam Morgan (DNS).
 Heat 1: 1. 3z-Zach Canas; 2. 26-Ryan Gardine; 3. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 4. 44-Caleb Hetrick.
 Heat 2: 1. 13t-Tyler Andreasen; 2. 9a-Anthony Martin; 3. 0-Kyle Bond; 4. 12-Jim Buss; 5. 72h-Kevin Hagan.

Sport Compact Feature: 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 12s-Dalton Smith; 3. 40j-Jose Sabala.
 Heat: 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 12s-Dalton Smith; 3. 40j-Jose Sabala.

Source: Kelly Ninas


Front & Back of T Shirt

Jack Sherman
Copyright © 2015 Tamie Thurn Powered by NITROQUEST