Dawson County Raceway
NewsSchedulePointsSponsorsPhotosDriversGearRulesTrack InfoLinks
News & Results
Sunday, May 5, 2013
Dawson County Raceway Opening Night!

Mastering the art of rocketing around the cushion was the formula for success for racers on opening night at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Nebraska on Sunday. The URSS Sprint Cars along with the IMCA Modifieds, Northern Sport Mods, Stock Cars and Hobby Stocks set a blistering fast pace throughout the night with Jeff Radcliffe, David Murray Jr., Jamey Kennicutt, Mike Nichols and Jason Wilkinson notched feature wins on opening night.
 Jeff Radcliffe of Hills City, Kansas was a force to be reckoned with on Sunday evening, as he won his heat race and wasted no time in getting to the front on lap 10 of the URSS Feature. Radcliffe was able to run on the ragged edge with great success in cruising to the 25-lap victory. For much of the race, Luke Cranston of Ness City, Kansas had his sights set on Radcliffe, as Cranston started right behind the victor, and was never able to reach past him. Coming from the third row to finish third overall was Jetmore, Kansas standout Ray Seemann. Youngster Jake Bubak of Arvada, Colorado was up on the wheel with a purpose and his efforts would not be denied in finishing fourth overall. Rounding out the top five was early leader Mark Walinder of Arvada, Colorado. Walinder led the initial nine laps of the contest before falling victim to the high-flying, cushion running Radcliffe. Greg Reimers of Norton, Kansas also won a heat race in early night action in Lexington.
 Knowing the fast way around the Dawson County Raceway oval is like the back of the hand for David Murray, Jr., and opening night was no different as the legendary Oberlin, Kansas wheelman claimed the IMCA Modified victory. Murray took the lead on lap 14 and never looked back. Crossing the finish line in the runner-up position was Ft. Morgan, Colorado’s Jeremy Frenier. Heat race winner Frenier was the early leader from his outside starting row position to lead the first thirteen laps of the feature. Getting the season started off right was McCook’s Rockin’ Ronnie Wallace in third place. Doing their best to earn a rung on the podium were Columbus, Nebraska’s Jared Hoefelman and Cory Sample of Winnemucca, Nevada in fourth and fifth overall, respectively.
 There were only two leaders during the running of the IMCA Sport Modifieds feature, and it was Gothenburg, Nebraska’s Jamey Kennicutt that earned the victory. Kennicutt led the final six laps, and for his efforts, he will be etched into the minds of all, as he was building his lead over the final circuits in the IMCA Modified feature. Bryan Herrick did his best to recover from a less than desirable starting position to claim the runner-up honors. Finishing up the Feature notables were third and fourth place finishers Denny Egge of Kearney and Gibbon’s Chad Dolan. Craig Howard of Lexington had a stellar night in bringing home a top five finish. Vince Leibert of Lexington along with Dolan and Herrick all won heat races on Sunday.
 Showing no fear and riding the face way around the Dawson County oval was Harlan, Iowa’s Mike Nichols as he claimed the top crown in the IMCA Stock Car division. Gaining great momentum and positive energy this season is Casey Woken of Gothenburg in second place overall. Getting the job done in fine fashion was Jeff Joldersma of McClelland, Iowa in third place overall. Kyle Clough of Wallace, Nebraska and North Platte’s Mike Dancer were fourth and fifth overall.
 Putting on a dominating performance and leading all 15 laps of the Feature was IMCA Hobby Stock driver Jason Wilkinson of Neligh, Nebraska. Wilkinson checked out each and every time after a restart to claim the top honors. Trying his best to unseat Wilkinson throughout the contest was hotshoe Dillon Thompson of Campbell, Nebraska in second place overall. Starting up front and finishing among the leaders on Sunday night was Loomis, Nebraska veteran Chuck Ledbetter in third place overall. Hasting’s Russ Specht and Grand Island’s Caleb Hetrick rounded out the top five finishers in fourth and fifth in the hobby stock division.
URSS Feature: 1. 21r-Jeff Radcliffe; 2. 20-Luke Cranston; 3. 72-Ray Seeman; 4. 9x-Jake Bubak; 5. 6-Mark Walinder; 6. 112-Richie Dewell; 7. 22-Greg Reiners; 8. 9-John Webster; 9. 56-Judd Sheaffer; 10. 24r-Doug Roth; 11. 22m-Mike Madden.
--Heat 1: 21r-Jeff Radcliffe; 2. 20-Luke Cranston; 3. 72-Ray Seeman; 4. 24r-Doug Roth; 5. 56-Judd Sheaffer.
--Heat 2: 22-Greg Reiners; 2. 6-Mark Walinder; 3. 11-Keefe Hemel; 4. 112-Richie Dewell; 5. 20x-Nate Berry.

Modified Feature: 1. 97m-David Murray Jr.; 2. 17j-Jeremy Frenier; 3. 3rw-Ronnie Wallace; 4. 15h-Jared Hoefelman; 5. 00-Cory Sample; 6. 50c-Colton Osborn; 7. 4c-Charley Brown; 8. 6c-Cale Osborn; 9. 19-Chuck Stryker; 10. 98-Eddie Edwards; 11. 1x-Cody Blessing; 12. XII-Jay Steffens; 13. 50-Scott Smith; 14. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 15. 14-Matthew Kiner.
--Heat 1: 1. 17j-Jeremy Frenier; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. 3rw-Ronnie Wallace; 4. 4c-Charley Brown; 5. 00-Cory Sample.
--Heat 2: 1. 15h-Jared Hoefelman; 2. 97m-David Murray Jr.; 3. 50c-Colton Osborn; 4. 19-Chuck Stryker; 5. 1x-Cody Blessing.

Northern Sport Mod Feature: 1. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 2. 0-Bryan Herrick; 3. 1x-Denny Egge; 4. 20b-Brandon Clough; 5. 87d-Chad Dolan; 6. 68-Craig Howard; 7. 8c-Corey Cruzan; 8. 52p-Brandon Poessnecker; 9. 12j-Kerry Jones; 10. 55t-Travis Thelander; 11. 25-Toph Harmon; 12. 15j-Herb Slough; 13. 23-Andrew Lovegrove; 14. 1tk-Ted Kutsch; 15. 13-Terry Dressel; 16. 72h-Jim Hagan; 17. 7-Vince Leibert.
--Heat 1: 1. 7-Vince Leibert; 2. 1x-Denny Egge; 3. 15j-Herb Slough; 4. 8c-Corey Cruzan; 5. 13-Terry Dressel.
--Heat 2: 1. 87d-Chad Dolan; 2. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 3. 20b-Brandon Clough; 4. 12j-Kerry Jones; 5. 52p-Brandon Poessnecker.
--Heat 3: 1. 0-Bryan Herrick; 2. 68-Craig Howard; 3. 72h-Jim Hagan; 4. 55t-Travis Thelander; 5. 55d-Dillon Schultz.

Stock Car Feature: 1. 63-Mike Nichols; 2. 35jw-Casey Woken; 3. 66-Jeff Joldersma; 4. 11k-Kyle Clough; 5. 45-Mikey Dancer; 6. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 7. 29e-Brendan Eilts; 8. j3d-Jed Williams; 9. 72-Robert Walker; 10. 00-Sara Klein; 11. 31-Darin Racek; 12. 20b-Kurt Trusty; 13. 09h-Bob Hoing.
--Heat 1: 1. 35jw-Casey Woken; 2. 45-Mikey Dancer; 3. 33oz-Ozzie Romero; 4. 24-Bob Chalupa; 5. 31-Darin Racek.
--Heat 2: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 6a-Adam Armstrong; 3. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 4. 29e-Brendan Eilts; 5. 16w-Jeff Whiting.
--Heat 3: 1. 66-Jeff Joldersma; 2. 63-Mike Nichols; 3. 11k-Kyle Clough; 4. 6e-Brady Easterday; 5. j3d-Jed Williams.

Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 11-Dillon Thompson; 3. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 4. 26x-Russ Speck; 5. 44-Caleb Hetrick; 6. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 7. 7t-Tyson Canas; 8. r89-Nate Refior; 9. 72b-Jacob Hagan; 10. 26-Ryan Gardine; 11. 53e-Tyler Easterday.
--Heat 1: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 80-Jim Rayburn; 3. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 4. 53e-Tyler Easterday; 5. r89-Nate Refior.
--Heat 2: 1. 2x-Travis Kernick; 2. 11-Dillon Thompson; 3. 44-Caleb Hetrick; 4. 26x-Russ Speck; 5. 9t-Theron Martin.
--Heat 3: 1. 72h-Kevin Hagan; 2. 26-Ryan Gardine; 3. 72b-Jacob Hagan; 4. 7t-Tyson Canas; 5. 23z-Josh Johnson.  

Source: Kelly Ninas


Front & Back of T Shirt

Chuck Ledbetter
Copyright © 2015 Tamie Thurn Powered by NITROQUEST