Dawson County Raceway
NewsSchedulePointsSponsorsPhotosDriversGearRulesTrack InfoLinks
News & Results
Tuesday, July 23, 2013
The Heat is On!

The points races are tight in many of the classes and the racing action was just as close during Dawson County Raceway’s Sunday Night Spectacular in Lexington, Nebraska.
Making the valuable trip to the IMCA winners circle was Colton Osborn, Kyle Werkmeister, Chad Dolan, Jason Wilkinson and David Earhart.
Putting his best foot forward lasted the duration this time out, as fifth row starter Colton Osborn of Cozad overcame a blown motor while leading last week’s Feature to snare the lead on lap nine and drive away for the victory in the IMCA Modified division. The early leader and pacesetter was Kearney’s Cody Blessing. Blessing was high, wide and handsome with authority in leading the first eight laps and then recovered quite nicely to hold onto the runner-up position when the checkered flag flew.  Jay Steffens of North Platte hugged the inside berm to earn a podium finish in third place overall from his fourth row starting position.
Driving to the lead at the halfway point, Kyle Werkmeister was able to power to the Feature win in the IMCA Stock Car division. Werkmeister garnered the lead on the ninth lap and never looked back. Jeff Whiting of Gothenburg had a rollercoaster of a run in finishing second. Whiting drove to the front and led lap eight before having an incident that cut a tire that forced him to drive from the back of the field to earn his elite finish. Having one of his best nights to date for 2013, Dan Stoll of Elwood paced the field for the initial seven laps and was able to keep his nose clean and earn show honors.
Dueling until the end, Gibbon’s Chad Dolan and Wakeeny Kansas hotshoe Brian Conness duked it out during the waning laps with Dolan holding the sligth edge on the final lap of the IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature. Conness had a great first appearance at Lexington with a runner-up finish. Ogallala’s Ty Rogers started in the third row and was able to stay with the leaders to earn third place accolades.
Putting on a dominating performance once again, Jason Wilkinson of Neligh was on the wheel from the onset, as he drove to the lead on lap two and cruised to the checkered flag in the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature. On his rear bumper during their heat race, and keeping his sights set on Wilkinson was Anthony Martin of Wilcox. Martin finished in the runner-up position in both the heat and feature events. Coming from the rear of the field after a flat tire, Norfolk’s Tiffany Bittner was the hardcharger with her third place finish after restarting in the back on lap two.
Leading from the green to the checkered flag was David Earhart of Farnam in the IMCA Sport Compact Feature. In his first appearance, Justin Smallcomb of Gibbon earned the runner-up honors with his Toyota. Piloting the yellow Rose Cavalier, David Dembowski of Grand Island earned third place accolades for his efforts behind the wheel.
Dawson County Raceway
Unofficial Results
--IMCA Modified Feature: 1. 50-Colton Osborn; 2. 1xjr-Cody Blessing; 3. XII-Jay Steffens; 4. 4c-Charley Brown; 5. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 6. 29e-Brooke Eilts; 7. 19-Chuck Stryker; 8. 24jt-Jeff Linner; 9. 41j-Dave Jeffres; 10. 2-Jeremy Herbst.
-Heat 1: 1. XII-Jay Steffens; 2. 7a-Steve Aitken; 3. 19-Chuck Stryker.
-Heat 2: 1. 1xjr-Cody Blessing; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. 50c-Colton Osborn.
--IMCA Stock Car Feature: 1. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 2. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 3. 57-Dan Stoll; 4. 72-Robert Walker; 5. 09h-Bob Hoing; 6. 25-Jared Brooks; 7. 31-Darin Racek; 8. j3d-Jed Williams; 9. 57x-Scott Stoll; 10. 00-Sarah Klein.
-Heat 1: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 99-Dave Easterday; 3. 25-Jared Brooks.
-Heat 2: 1. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 2. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 3. 57-Dan Stoll.
--IMCA Northern Sport Modifieds Feature: 1. 87d-Chad Dolan; 2. 21c-Brian Conness; 3. 8t-Ty Rogers; 4. 13-Terry Dressel; 5. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 6. 52-Dean Wilkinson; 7. 1x-Denny Egge; 8. 8c-Cory Cruzan; 9. 68-Craig Howard; 10. 12j-Kerry Jones.
-Heat 1: 1. 87d-Chad Dolan; 2. 7-Vince Leibert; 3. 13. Terry Dressel.
-Heat 1: 1. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 2. 21c-Brian Conness; 3. 52-Dean Wilkinson.
--IMCA Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 9a-Anthony Martin; 3. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 4. 11-Dillon Thompson; 5. 03-Josh Lester; 6. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 7. 9t-Theron Martin; 8. 30pk-Ethan Kenney; 9. 72b-Jacob Hagan; 10. 2x-Travis Kernick.
-Heat 1: 1. 95b-Tiffany Bittner; 2. 11-Dillon Thompson; 3. 72b-Jacob Hagan.
-Heat 2: 1. 52-Jason Wilkinson; 2. 9a-Anthony Martin; 3. 72h-Kevin Hagan.
IMCA Sport Compacts Feature: 1. 22e-David Earhart; 2. 85-Justin Smallcomb; 3. 52-David Dembowski; 4. 29e-Justin Schmidt.
-Heat: 1. 52-David Dembowski; 2. 22e-David Earhart; 3. 29e-Justin Schmidt; 4. 85-Justin Smallcomb.


Source: Kelly Ninas


Front & Back of T Shirt

Branden Stange
Copyright © 2015 Tamie Thurn Powered by NITROQUEST